Vita: Offices & Committee Work

Member, Institute of Education Sciences’ Education Systems and Broad Reform Education Research Scientific Review Panel, 2009-2011

Member, William T. Grant Foundation Board, 2007-present

Vice President, National Academy of Education, 2005-Present.

Member, What Works Clearinghouse Advisory Committee, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education-funded, 2002-Present.

Member, National Assessment Governing Board, 2004-2012.

President-Elect 2000; President 2001; Past-President 2002, American Educational Research Association.

Secretary/Treasurer, National Academy of Education, 1998-2001 (also Member-At-Large, Executive Committee, 1997; Chair of Nominating Committee, 1997-1998; and Member of Selection Committee for Spencer Foundation Postdoctoral Fellows, 1998-2001).

Chair, U.S. Department of Education, Advisory Council on Education Statistics, 1994-2001.

Member, Title I/ESEA Independent Review Panel, U.S. Department of Education, 1995-2001.

Chair, National Science Foundation, Education and Human Resources Directorate, Special Emphasis Panel on Evaluation, 1995-1998.

Member, Madison Urban League Board of Directors, 1991-1996; Chair of Program Planning Committee, 1993-1995.

Member-At-Large, AERA Council, 1992-1994.

Member, AACTE/NCATE Research and Information Committee, 1992-1993.

Program Chair, 1990 AERA annual meeting.

NCTM Research Catalyst Conference Mentor, 1990-1991.

Member, NCTM Task Force on the Effects of the Standards on School Practice, 1989.

Member, AERA Governmental and Professional Liaison Committee, 1987-1990.

Member, American Statistical Association/National Science Foundation/Center for Educational Statistics Research Fellows Program Committee, 1986-1990.

Member, Michigan Advisory Panel, North Central Regional Educational Laboratory, 1985-1988.

Chairman and chair-elect, AERA Raymond B. Cattell Early Career Award for Programmatic Research, 1985, 1986.

Member-At-Large, AERA Institutional Affiliates Executive Committee, 1983-1985.

Chairman, AERA Nominations Committee, 1983.

Member, AERA Research Training Committee, 1976-1979.

Member, AERA/ASA Joint Management Committee, Journal of Educational Statistics, 1975-1977.

Chairman, Panel on Methodology in the National Conference on Planning Studies in Teaching, National Institute of Education, 1974.

Member, Palmer O. Johnson Award Committee, AERA, 1971-1974.